Tutorials of Optimization and Approximation (Fall 2017)

Schedule of the Semester

Date Lectures Tutorials
Friday, Sept 8 Lecture 1: Introduction to Optimization
Monday, Sept 11 Tutorial 1: Modelization and Linear Programming
[exercises] [solutions]
Friday, Sept 15 Lecture 2: Introduction to Polytopes
Tuesday, Sept 19 Lecture 3: Simplex Algorithm
Wednesday, Sept 20 Tutorial 2: Convex Sets, Polytopes and Linear Programming
[exercises] [solutions]
Tuesday, Sept 26 Lecture 4: Simplex Algorithm - Initialization and Termination
Friday, Sept 29 Tutorial 3: Simplex Algorithm - Theory and Practice
[exercises] [solutions]
Tuesday, Oct 3 Tutorial 4: Simplex Algorithm - Termination and Complexity
[exercises] [solutions]
Friday, Oct 6 Lecture 5: Duality
Tuesday, Oct 10 Lecture 6: Sensitivity Analysis
Friday, Oct 13 Tutorial 5: Duality
[exercises] [solutions]
One assignment to choose (deadline: Tuesday, Nov 14):
[dm1-farkas] [dm1-simplex]
Tuesday, Oct 17 Lecture 7: Integral Polytopes
Thursday, Oct 19 Tutorial 6: Sensitivity Analysis
[exercises]
Tuesday, Oct 24 Lecture 8: Integrality Gap and VC Dimension
Friday, Oct 27 Tutorial 7: Integral Polytopes and Duality
[exercises]