Olivier Maury

Dr. Olivier MAURY

  • Directeur de recherche CNRS (section 14)
  • Laboratoire de Chimie, équipe Matériaux Fonctionnels & Photoniques
  • UMR 5182 / CNRS-ENS Lyon-Université Lyon 1
  • 46, allée d'Italie
  • 69364, Lyon cedex 07
  • Email: olivier.maury@ens-lyon.fr, Tel +33 (0)4 72 72 86 72
Olivier Maury was graduated from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris in 1993 and completed his Ph.D. in 1997 under the supervision of M. Ephritikhine (CEA Saclay). After a postdoctoral position with J.-M. Basset (CPE-Lyon), he got a CNRS position as Chargé de Recherche in 1999 at the University of Rennes in the group of H. Le Bozec.. In 2004 he moved to the Ecole Normale Supérieure of Lyon in the team of C. Andraud. His current research interests concern the design of lanthanides containing molecular materials and NIR chromophores with optimized spectroscopic properties (luminescence and nonlinear optics) towards optical limiting purposes, biological imaging and photodynamic therapyapplications. A more recent collaborative research project concerns the design a lanthanide complexes for protein structure resolution using x-ray diffraction or solid state NMR.

Olivier Maury et Chantal Andraud
With C. Andraud (2009)

Research Topics

1) Lanthanides for Nonlinear Optic

Whereas lanthanide complexes have attracted considerable attention for their luminescent properties arising from f-f transitions, as well as for their magnetic properties and biological applications, much less is known about their potentialities in the field of second-order nonlinear optics (NLO). For one decade we systematically studied their potentialities in this area and significant results have been obtained:

  1. First, we contribute to establish that the lanthanide luminescence can be sensitized not only from the triplet state of an antenna ligand but also from a charge transfer excited state (Inorg. Chem., 2008) resulting in enhanced potentialities of lanthanide complexes for nonlinear optics. We are currently pushing the limits of the sensitization of NIR emitters using antenna absorbing in the red part of the spectrum (TTF –ligand in collaboration with F. Pointillard and L. Ouahab, Chem. Eur. J. 2010).

  2. We evidenced the direct contribution of f-electron to the quadratic hyperpolarisability (second-order nonlinear optics) underlining the polarizable nature of f-electrons. (JACS, 2005, 2006, 2008)

  3. We optimized the two-photon absorption cross-section for europium complexes up to 750 GM (Inorg. Chem.; 2008).

2) Lanthanides bio-probes for two-photon microscopy

Based on these results, we have demonstrated the proof-of-concept of biphotonic microscopy using lanthanide complexes as probes on a monocrystal samples (ChemPhysChem 2007) and on fixed human cancer cells (Collab. with A. Grichine & A. Duperray JACS 2008).

3) Protein crystallography

Rapid resolution of bio-macromolecule structures like proteins is actually a great challenge to understand the relationship between their structure and their functions in a living organism. Crystallography and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR) are currently methods of choice for such structure determinations. Lanthanide complexes are powerful auxiliaries for both methods due to their intrinsic paramagnetism (NMR) and high phasing ability (anomalous scaterrer for x-ray diffractions). We developed a collaborative project aiming to study the supramolecular interactions between lanthanide complexes and proteins or amino acids. The tris-dipicolinate lanthanide complexes present strong affinity for arginin residue allowing solving de novo the structure of seven proteins using MAD or SAD method. Their use was recently extended to the structural resolution of large protein complex (Collab. With E. Girard & R. Kahn, Acta Cryst. D 2010, J. Synchr. Rad. 2011).

Molecular structure of the tris-dipicolinate lanthanide complex (up-left) ; derivative crystals of hen egg-white lysozyme (bottom-left) under UV irradiation (Tb: green and Eu: red) ; refined structure of Ln(DPA)33- derivatives of proteins: hen egg-white lysozyme, thaumatin and urate oxidase.

In addition, this supramolecular interaction was successfully mimicked using small molecules like ethylguanidinium using x-ray diffraction and the affinity constant were determined by NMR titration (Collab. with N. Giraud Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2008).

Finally, we set the basis of NMR crystallography using the strong paramagnetic anisotropy of Terbium derivatives. The long term goal being the resolution of protein structure by solid state NMR (Collab. with G. Pintacuda, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2009).

4) NIR Chromophores

The group is also involved in the design of original chromophores featuring optimized absorption and emission properties in the near infra-red spectral range (up to 750 nm). In particular, we focused on the two-photon absorption properties and optical limiting behavior at telecommunication wavelengths (1500 nm). To that end we developed the synthesis of cyanine dyes (Org. Lett. 2008) and functionalized aza-bodipy dyes (Org. Lett. 2011). These chromophores exhibit interesting optical limiting behavior around telecommunication wavelength (Chem. Mater. 2007; Adv. Mater. 2009).

We are also interested in the experimental and theoretical study of the famous “cyanine limit” representing the far-red limit that can be reached by a charge transfer chromophore. We demonstrated that this limit can be reversibly crossed simply by playing on anion-cation interactions (JACS 2010).

5) Two-photon photodynamic applications

Gallery: Click here for a photo gallery!

Group Members

Since 2005

Quentin Bellier (PhD-2011)

Adrien Bourdolle (PhD-2011)

Thibault Gallavardin (PhD-2010)

Pierre-Antoine Bouit (PhD-2008)

Dr. Mustapha Allali (post-doc)

Dr. Alexandre Picot (post-doc)

Dr. Anthony D’Aléo (post Doc)

Mickael Normand (M2)

Floriane Malvolti (M2)

"Dream team 2006" from right to left Alexandre Picot, Floriane Malvolti,
Pierre-Antoine Bouit, Anthony D’Aléo, Olivier Maury.

"Maury Boys 2009" from right to left Mickael Normand, Adrien Bourdolle, Sarah Pegaz,
Quentin Bellier, Thibaut Gallavardin, Olivier Maury.