Fifth International Workshop on 
Distributed Shared Memory

DSM 2005

Organized At

IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Cluster Computing and the Grid (CCGrid 2005)

 May 9-12, 2005, Cardiff, UK

In Corporation with the IEEE Computer Society Task Force on Cluster Computing (TCSC)

Program and slides of talks

Call for papers

Workshop Co-Chairs

Program Committee Members


                DAY 3: Wednesday, May 11, 2005

Day 3:          Wednesday, May 11, 2005
Workshop 5:     DSM 2005: Fifth International Workshop on Distributed
		Shared Memory
Room:           C
Chairs:         Laurent Lefevre, Michael Schoettner

Laurent Lefevre and Michael Schoettner

View-Oriented Update Protocol with Integrated Diff for
View-based Consistency
Z. Huang, M. Purvis, P. Werstein 

Execution Time Prediction in DSM-based Mobile Grids
Marco Ballette, Antonio Liotta, Samir M Ramzy

The Performance Analysis of Portable Parallel Programming Interface MpC
for SDSM and pthread
Hiroko Midorikawa

A Practical Transparent Data Sharing Service for the Grid
Louis Rilling and Christine Morin

Teamster-G: A Grid-enabled Software DSM System
Tyng-Yeu Liang, Chun-Yi Wu, Jyh-Biau Chang, Ce-Kuen Shieh

A Distributed Shared Buffer Space for Data-intensive Applications
Renaud Lachaize and Jorgen S. Hanson

Distributed Synchronization with Shared Semaphore Sets
Cristian Tapus and Jason Hickey

Version Vector Protocols Implementing Session Guarantees
Anna Kobusinska, Marek Libuda, Cezary Sobaniec, Dariusz Wawrzyniak

Reconfigurable Consistency Model for Object-based Software DSM
Christiane V. Pousa, Lums F. W. Goes, Carlos A. P. S. Martins

Can High Performance Software DSM Systems Designed With InfiniBand
Features Benefit from PCI-Express?
Ranjit Noronha and Dhabaleswar K. Panda


Call for Papers


With high performance clustering solutions, Distributed Shared Memory (DSM) systems provide easiness of programming a shared space combined with high performance architecture.

The DSM 2005 workshop organized at the CCGrid 2005 symposium will serve as a major forum to present and share the latest research results of the work by international researchers, developers, and users. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to :

We also encourage authors to present novel ideas, critique of existing work, and application examplers, which demonstrate how DSM technology could be effectively deployed. We also welcome practical work which applies DSM in novel and interesting ways.

You can find here program and slides of last DSM workshop.

Paper Submissions

Authors are invited to submit papers of not more than 8 pages of double column text using single spaced 10 point size type on 8.5 x 11 inch pages, as per IEEE 8.5 x 11 manuscript guidelines, see Authors should submit a PostScript (level 2) or PDF file that will print on a PostScript printer. Electronic submission by email is strongly encouraged. Hard copies should be sent only if electronic submission is not possible. Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to register and present the paper. Please email your papers to, which is the preferred method for submission. Put "DSM2005 submission" in the subject of the email.

Proceedings All papers selected for this workshop are peer-reviewed and will be published as a part of the CCGrid 2005 Proceedings. .

Workshop Co-Chairs

Laurent Lefevre
Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon
46, allee d'Italie - 69364 Lyon Cedex 07 - France
Tel: +33 4 72 72 82 28
Fax: +33 4 72 72 80 80

Michael Schoettner
University of Ulm
Department of Distributed Systems
Informatik o-27, 89075 Ulm, Germany
Tel: +49 731 50-24138
Fax: +49 731 50-24142

Program Committee Members

  • Lionel Brunie, National Institute of Applied Sciences of Lyon INSA, France
  • Rasit Eskicioglu, University of Manitoba, Canada
  • Zhiyi Huang, University of Otago, New Zealand
  • Liviu Iftode, Rutgers University, USA
  • Laurent Lefevre, INRIA RESO / LIP, France
  • Alba Cristina M. A. de Melo, University of Brasilia, Brazil
  • Jason Hickey, Caltech, USA
  • Christine Morin, IRISA / INRIA, France
  • Michael Schoettner, University of Ulm, Germany
  • Peter Schulthess, University of Ulm, Germany
  • Assaf Schuster, Technion, Israel
  • Hadi Shahriar Shahhoseini, Iran University of Science Technology, Iran
  • Jackie Silcock, Deakin University, Australia
  • Evan Speight, IBM Austin Research Lab, USA
  • David Taniar, Monash University, Australia

  • Important Dates:

    Papers due on: 
    Notification of Acceptance: 
    Camera Ready Papers: 
    CCGrid'2005 Symposium:
    December 15, 2004 (deadline extended)
    January 30, 2005  
    February , 2005  
    May 9-12, 2005